nurseaftershift

by Syaoran Pe

Why Bongbong Marcos finally earned my vote?

I only have one reason why I will never vote for Bongbong Marcos and it is not because he is the son of his father.

I only have one reason why I will never vote for Bongbong Marcos and it is not because he is the son of his father.

For an average person like me, I work 9-5 jobs and sometimes, I also work on the weekends just to pay the bills. I barely have time for myself much more to make time and bother about the complicated world of Philippine politics. So, in choosing who to vote for, I keep my reasons very simple; again, because I just don’t have the time.

There is one thing about Bongbong that caught my attention and made me set time to actually fact check because I just have to know.

Once upon a time, he made the Filipino people and essentially the rest of the world believe that he is an Oxford graduate. The problem is he is not. To make the long story short, he got caught in his lies. Bongbong insisted about it even after Oxford’s statement; he never apologized for it; the very least he can acknowledge it but he never did. Up to this day, he acts like nothing happened.

This is a non-negotiable fact for me. My issue is not because he was not good enough for Oxford. I get that school does not work for everyone. My issue is because he lied and after getting caught, he refuses to say anything. For a citizen of a corruption-stricken country – I will not give the keys to the Presidency to someone who cannot even be honest about a basic but significant part of his life such as his education. This is my simple reason why he lost my vote.

The Filipino people are desperate for overnight change that they are willing to risk it, turn their blind eye from all the red flags, and secretly wishing – maybe, just maybe Bongbong is the silver bullet. But this evidence is overwhelming enough (at least for me) to know what lies ahead if you gave him the power of the Presidency. The man is a liar and he shows no remorse. Period. 

But hey, vote who you want to vote. It’s cool. We’d still be friends regardless.

If you’re waiting for the part where I would state how Bongbong Marcos earned my vote – no, he did not. Yes, I also lied. I apologise.

The more important question is; how did this article that lied about its very subject make you feel? Precisely my point.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2021 by in The Author.

Navigation