nurseaftershift

by Syaoran Pe

Back to zero

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The moment I stepped out the Iloilo airport, I knew there was no turning back. There was a crowd, heat, and random cars parking and picking up passengers. The scene is just the same with just every airport I visited except that there was so much space and a lot cooler. I shook my head. “You are here now,” I told myself.

Traveling alone is not new to me. I proceeded to find a car to bring me to my hotel. “You survived getting lost in Santorini or having an operation in Istanbul; you will get through Iloilo,” I reminded myself. But the heat was just not making things any easier. I don’t remember Santorini or Istanbul this sticky.

I struggled for a day or two with the summer heat. I remember the taxi driver telling me after I requested him to turn on his car’s AC, “Dubai is hotter because it is a desert. This should not be new to you.”

“Basing on your simple understanding of geography and climates, I am sure you have not traveled to the Emirates of Dubai. Just turn on your AC please,” I replied.

On the third day, I rode the jeepney while the sun was setting. The nostalgia was overwhelming. I passed by the spot where I used to ride going to my previous call center company. I visited my university and said hi to some staffs and teachers. I ate in our usual spot in the restaurant near my school. I sat down in the park where I used to study.

“I am here? I am here. Yes. You are here.” I just have to say it out loud.

I met with classmates, friends, and mentors. I think this is the good thing with not having Facebook because there is so much we talked about.

After finishing my inasal in a restaurant, I sat down for some time and observed people passing by. They are me five years ago.

“I am back to zero,” I sighed. But still, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I wouldn’t trade the experience I got from being an expatriate.

I always say that I am deeply admiring my fellow professionals who chose to stay and work in the Philippines. This country is not easy to love.

I will be starting something new soon and it will not be easy. But in the meantime, let me enjoy the cool water of our province’s river. I have been dreaming of this!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2018 by in The Author and tagged , , , , , .