nurseaftershift

by Syaoran Pe

A place to call home

The waves… I wish I could pause it and just admire it for a few seconds. It is just so beautiful the way it raises, curves up, and finally hitting the powdery sands. Summer is in its final days in this part of the globe. This salty breeze is weirdly refreshing, the sunset is just perfect, and the sand never fails to convince me to walk barefoot. The earth just feels so warm and comforting. These feet just feel at home. This human is finally here in a country named Australia.

phil

I was young and I had the energy to follow what everyone tells me to do.

Let me tell you briefly about the three homes I spent my life in. My first home was the Philippines. For more than twenty years, I was trapped in routines, rules, and expectations. I was young and I had the energy to follow what everyone tells me to do. One fateful day, I finally felt tired – exhausted. I played by their rules and it left me empty. They were happy for me but I was not for myself.

UAE

But that country led me to my truth and my faith.

One day, I flew in the United Arab Emirates. The country gave me the toughest times. I wrote down many of those in my previous article “How 2013 devirginized me” (https://nurseaftershift.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/how-2013-devirginized-me/). But that country led me to my truth and my faith. In a Muslim country, I found again my Christianity – my personal greatest irony. I grew drastically both personally and professionally. This is the home that allowed me to explore and set out for different kinds of adventures. This is when and where reality and maturity hit me really hard. Nonetheless, I am proud to say that everything was a closed chapter with no loose ends for me.

aus.jpg

It is teaching me a lot about patience. I am learning to trust the process.

That significant day when Qantas Flight QF36 finally landed in Melbourne Airport – it felt surreal. I worked for five years and saved every dirham I can and eventually it all led to this. Australia has always been a goal but for various reasons, I had to defer. My stay here is far from perfect. It is teaching me a lot about patience. I am learning to trust the process.

My first home gave me family and genuine friends, my second home boosted my career and gave me financial freedom, and currently, this piece of land is allowing me to know my core and express my truth – my purpose.

The sun has already set. Another day has gone. The challenges in this country never end but I am here now and I want to do this because I know I can. Maybe it is too early to consider this part of the earth as my home but I know someday, it will be…

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2019 by in The Author.